Week of April 20-Three F’s

1. Funny: Last week I went to a fabulous lunch with new friends. We went to a little bistro in a very cool area of Geneva called Carouge. We were being very European…taking the tram to get there and taking our time with our meal. By the time we were finished, we were pressed for time to pick up our kids from school. So we hopped on tram and headed that way, knowing we would cut it close but make it (public transport in Geneva is always on time). About halfway through our trip, the tram’s brakes slammed and the two of us nearly fell over. We thought we had hit something, but the tram continued on….until about a minute later when the intercom made an announcement (in French of course) the doors opened, and everyone got off. Oh boy! So there I was…dressed for lunch out with friends complete with boots and a rather large purse, running down one of the busiest roads in Geneva. Running. Picture it. It’s funny. My new friend and I laughed loudly and hysterically as we huffed and puffed up the hills toward the school, calling on another friend to save our children from the embarrassment or fear of us not being there. In the end it was fine. I realized how out of shape I am, and learned my lesson not to cut it that close, even with the strict timetables of Geneva.

2. Frustration: No move is perfect, and this one is no different. We have some things broken or damaged. We have some things sitting in the house that should have been sent to storage. But the most frustrating right now is figuring out all of the things that should be here but are apparently in a storage facility in North Carolina. Those of you who know me well will appreciate that my greatest frustration is not being able to find my Norwex cleaning cloths. NONE. OF. THEM. I have torn through boxes thinking certainly they must be somewhere. They are nowhere. Grrrrrr.

3. French: First of all, I was recently introduced to an amazing feature of Google translate. I push the camera button, and hold my phone over any piece of mail, restaurant menu, public sign, etc. and Voila! I can magically read it in English. It really is magical, no joke. But, my favorite French phrase I have learned this week is,

Je ne sais pas. Meaning…I don’t know. And so often I don’t.

Leave a comment